Board & Scientific Committee


The Schizophrenia Research Institute is guided by a distinguished Board of Directors. The Board brings leadership skills in science, business, finance, law, education, communication, health services and other fields, to help ensure optimal and efficient achievement of the Institute’s aims.

Norbert-Schweizer_smallerPeter Schofield, CEO.












Norbert Schweizer (Chairman), Founding Partner, Schweizer Kobras Lawyers and Notaries.






Chad-BartonChad Barton (Chair of Finance Sub-Committee), Chief Financial Officer, Echo Entertainment.










Chris-McDiven-portriatChris McDiven AM, Former Federal President of the Liberal Party of Australia.








VaughanCarr2Vaughan Carr, Professor of Psychiatry, University of NSW; CEO, Schizophrenia Research Institute.









RITA_MALLIARita Mallia, is the President of the Construction Forestry Mining and Energy Union (NSW Branch) Construction and General Division and Director of Uplus Pty Ltd.









Sheryl Weil 1bSheryl Weil, Executive Director and Global Head of Service & Operations, Macquarie Group.










Anthony-HarrisAnthony Harris, is the President of the Schizophrenia Fellowship of NSW, board member of the Mental Illness Fellowship of Australia, Associate Professor in the Discipline of Psychiatry at the University of Sydney and Clinical Director at the Brain Dynamics Centre, West Mead Millennium Institute at the University of Sydney.








Sheryl Weil 1bJennie Churchill, is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and sits on a number of not-for-profit boards.










Scientific Advisory Committee

The Scientific Advisory Committee is responsible for the scientific planning, direction and management of the Institute. The Committee oversees three research panels, each focused on a critical area of scientific expertise, and one panel managing infrastructure vital to the research program.

Prof. Vaughan Carr, CEO & Convenor, Epidemiology and Population Health Panel

Prof. Xu-Feng Huang, Co-Convenor, Developmental Neurobiology Panel

Dr Kristin Laurens, Epidemiology and Population Health Panel Representative

Dr Carmel Loughland, Co-Convenor, Schizophrenia Research Infrastructure Panel

Dr Katrina Green, Early Career Researcher Representative

Prof. Patricia Michie, Cognition and Connectivity Panel Representative

A/Prof. Ulrich Schall, Co-Convenor, Cognition and Connectivity Panel

Prof. Peter Schofield, Developmental Neurobiology Panel Representative

Prof. Cyndi Shannon Weickert, Co-Convenor, Developmental Neurobiology Panel

Dr Kimberlie Dean, Epidemiology and Population Health Panel Representative

Prof. Robyn Langdon, Cognition and Connectivity Panel Representative

Page last updated: 14:00  23 October 2015